Today, I don’t have a Job

If you haven’t heard… I just ran into a lot of free time.

Something happens when you become a grown up. All of a sudden responsibilities start flying at you and everyone expects you to just “know” how to live.

In high school I romanticized what after-college would look like. It would be really easy to find my dream job and I’d probably stay there forever because, it’s my dream job. I’d get married and have a few children. I’d be able to afford a house right away because you know, I work at my dream job. I’d rescue a Boxer puppy from imminent death. And I’d have a bunch of expendable money to travel with my hunky husband to Europe and/or Africa at least once a year. (I obviously was sheltered as a child)

Well news flash high schoolers, for the majority of us, that’s not how things work out.

Now I was one of the lucky ones. I found a pretty rad job right before I graduated from college. I found it on Craigslist, and it was exactly what I was looking for. Not my dream job, but… definitely something I was interested in.

BUT, after I worked there for awhile I realized it wasn’t the place for me. Nothing personal with anyone or anything… but I’d lost my passion and excitement for the job. I told myself a long time ago that if I ever lost my passion for what I was doing, I’d find a way to change it, or do something else. I think we spend a lot of time settling, because it’s the responsible thing to do. And granted, some people have to settle… this economy sucks. But, if we have the opportunity to change our circumstances, ones that we are less than satisfied with, it’s always worth a try.

It wasn’t a whim decision. I waited for a long time. I wanted to make sure I wasn’t just going through a phase.

I put in my 2 weeks and breathed a sigh of relief.

This is the 11th picture in Google when you type in “unemployed”

And so that’s where I am. My last day was yesterday. And now I’m sitting in Peets writing a blog post. I quit without any real direction. I have a few prospects, but nothing in the books.

I know I did the right thing.

Yesterday I decided that for 48 hours, I’ll stay away from Craigslist, I’ll refrain from answering the “So what are you going to do?” question, I wont make plans, I wont have an agenda or any expectations. For the first time, in a long time, I’m just going to live… with no responsibilities. It’s weird, but I’m trying to bask in it while I can.

I’m almost 24 hours into my 48… and it’s been glorious. Yesterday I watched TV for a few hours, went on a run, made breakfast for dinner and watched more TV. Today I’m blogging in Peets and I might grab lunch with my dad and maybe I’ll go to happy hour tonight. But for the next 24 hours, I’m just going to be Rachel. Unemployed, no responsibility, Rachel.

With how lame this economy is, I’m not taking for granted how blessed I am. A lot of people don’t have the luxury of quitting their job just because they’ve lost their passion. Tomorrow though, you best believe I’m going to hit the job hunt full force. I’m going to do my best not to be unemployed for long.

2 thoughts on “Today, I don’t have a Job

  1. you didn’t rescue that puppy, it’s name is not Gus (it’s a girl) and I know this because I took that photo at a dog show 3 years ago.

    • Sorry about that Sian. This is an old blog. The story was hypothetical – I said this is a story I dreamed of before graduating college – one of my dreams has always been to rescue a brindle Boxer pup and name it Gus. I’m aware that I don’t own him/her and I never claimed to even know him/her, I’m also aware that I didn’t take the photo.

      The pup came up in a Google search in 2011 when I typed in “Boxer puppy”. I didn’t knowingly take your artwork nor did I intentionally not give you credit. Anyways, sorry about that… I’ll remove the photo immediately!

Leave a Reply

