So, I’ve been Jobless for 7 Days

Well folks, we’re on day 7 of Rachel’s Jobless Adventure (working title).

I call this an adventure because, it’s really boring if I call it what it really is.

I’d like to answer some of the most popular questions I’ve received over the last few days, just so we’re all on the same page:

  • Have you started the job hunt? Nope.
  • Why not? I’ve been keeping my eye on Craigslist, but I’m not ready to start sending in resumes yet. I’m still waiting on a few things to fall in place before I begin that part of my journey.
  • When will you do that? Soon.
  • So, what do you do to fill your week? Well, I’m taking advantage of this extended vacation and I’m really trying to spend time with family and friends. I got lost in stress right before I graduated from Liberty in May. That stress took a toll on some of my friendships. I’m working hard to re-kindle those relationships and I’m committing to be present in my friend’s lives.
  • What do you do about finances? I was smart when I had a job. I saved for a rainy day. I’ll be fine for awhile.
  • How do you feel about all of this? I feel great. I’m currently rejuvenating. I’m being filled by rest and community.

I know I took a big risk. The economy sucks, and I was one of the lucky ones who had a full time job. Some might say my decision was irresponsible… don’t think that didn’t cross my mind. My decision might have been irresponsible, but I also know that this might be one of the last times in my life where I have the opportunity to make an irresponsible decision with limited consequences. I hope to have a family someday, I won’t quit my job when I have a family.

This past week I’ve had coffee with friends I haven’t had a chance to talk to in awhile. I went on a double date. I went out to sushi TWO days in a row. I worked out. I lounged around in my pjs for too long. I did my boyfriends laundry. I held babies. I watched movies and listened to Adele and John Mayer on vinyl. I went to Target just to look at Christmas decorations. And I spent about 20 hours in Peets.

This past week I lived like I wish we all could live. In my perfect world we’d be able to spend the majority of our time in community, pouring into each other’s lives. We wouldn’t spend so much time sitting in an office, responding to mundane e-mails and inputing endless amount of data. We wouldn’t be held down by deadlines. Shoot in my perfect world, we wouldn’t even need money at all.

But that’s not how life is, and that’s okay… that’s just the way it goes. But this week, I experienced my perfect world… and it was pretty awesome. So for now, I’m going to be jobless. Who knows what tomorrow will bring.
2 thoughts on “So, I’ve been Jobless for 7 Days

  1. I LOVE this Rachel! Your friend is right, Indeed.com is the way to go. That’s where I found my job 🙂 Speaking from experience, you will get bored of the life of leisure (gasp! how could that be! haha!)…I got bored around week 6 just for reference, LOL. ENJOY your time off. Way to be brave and put yourself first 🙂

Leave a Reply

